Great Outdoors Reversible Vest

It’s a big call but if I was stuck on a desert island and could only have 5 sewing patterns, the Great Outdoors Reversible Vest pattern would be one of them. This is my fifth and it always surprises me at how easy it is to put together for such a fantastic finished product. These vests always get compliments and they’re super practical for layering mid-season or adding that extra piece of warmth without being too bulky.

I have to admit, I’ve played it safe and only done the hood version so far, because I love hoods on little ones and I’m not sure about the collar version. I have plans to try and add sleeves to make a jacket for Mr F so I’ll keep you posted.

As usual, I didn’t check that I had enough material so this particular version isn’t going to be reversible because my beloved Cotton+Steel cookie book scrap didn’t quite stretch to the hood, which I ended up doing in cream corduroy. I love the look of the quilted chambray on the outside and I’m also loving my KAM snap machine (requested Christmas present), with its matching snaps for almost everything.

IMG_5087IMG_5110Playing libraries.IMG_5187And some outdoors shots of course! Check out that snap matching.IMG_5212

Leave a Reply

